Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Award

The Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy, abbreviated as MAKA Trophy could be a sports honour of the Republic of Republic of India. The award is called once Abul Kalam Azad usually stated as Maulana Azad, one among the senior leaders of Republic of Indian independence movement and 1st Minister of Education in freelance India. It’s given annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports which is one of the interesting thing. It’s a rolling trophy awarded to the “overall high playing University in sports and promoting competitive sports in University” over the preceding year. As of 2020, the award for the university securing 1st position contains “a rolling MAKA trophy and a money prize of ₹15 100000 (US$21,000)”. The second- and third-place universities receive money prizes of ₹7.5 100000 (US$11,000) and ₹4.5 100000 (US$6,300) severally.

The trophy, initiated in 1956–1957, has been awarded a complete of sixty four times as of 2020. The trophy’s goal is to promote competitive sports, sports excellence, and sports integration and condition among Indian schools and institutions. The trophy is awarded annually with the opposite 5 National Sports Awards and national journey award at the Presidential Palace bestowed by the President of Republic of India, typically on twenty ninth August of a year. Six universities have won the trophy varied times. Religious leader Dev University in Amritsar has won the trophy twenty two times, last within the year 2017–2018. Panjab University in Chandigarh has won the trophy fifteen times, last within the year 2020, whereas Old Delhi city metropolitan urban center University based mostly in Delhi has won the trophy fourteen times, last within the year 2000–2001. Different winners embody Bombay University in Bombay that won the inaugural trophy, Punjabi University in Patiala, and Kurukshetra University in Kurukshetra.



Full name of Maula Abul is Maulana Sayyid Abul Kalam Ghulam Muhiyuddin Ahmed Azad.

In year 2001 to 2004 Guru Nanak Dev University was recipient. In 2004-2005 Chandigarh City was recipient of trophy. In 2006-2009 Patiala City was main recipient. From 2013-2016 Punjab was recipient. Then in 2017-2018 Guru Nanak Dev University was recipient. Again in 2019 and 2020 Punjab University was recipient with consistent progress.

Final Winner of the Trophy is Panjab University, Chandigarh has won the prestigious Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy for overall top performing university in Inter-University Tournaments for the second year in a row.

Out of 45 years of actual participation, Guru Nanak Dev University has won India’s coveted Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy 22 times, finished second 14 times, and finished third four times.