Topic: Sports Awards in India

The Arjuna Award

The Arjuna Award for Outstanding Performance in Sports and Games or simply the Arjuna Award is the highest honorary award a sportsperson receives for their remarkable performance in national and international games from the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India.

The award is named after Arjuna, from Mahabharata. The sportspersons are honoured with a bronze statue of Arjuna, a cash prize, and a scroll.

It was initiated in 1961 to honour not only the outstanding performers but also the ones who showed qualities of leadership, sportsmanship, and a sense of discipline in their sport.

Till now, 881 individual sportspersons and one team are the recipients of the Arjuna Award.

The Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award

The Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award is the known as the lifetime achievement sporting honour for the Republic of India.

The award got its name when Dhyan Chand who was an Indian hockey player who succeeded in scoring more than 1000 goals during a career span of 20 years from 1926 to 1948.

The award is honoured by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports annually.

Recipients get selected by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and are honoured and acknowledged for their contribution to sports during their active carrier as well as after their retirement.

The award consist of a certificate, ceremonial  dress and a cash price worth of 10lakhs as of 2020.

The award is given to the various events like Olympic games ,Paralympic games, Asian games, Common wealth Games and much more.

The first recipients  of the award who got honour were Shahuraj Birajdar (Boxing), Ashok Diwan (Hockey), and Aparna Ghosh (Basketball).

Shiv Chhatrapati Award

Shiv Chhatrapati Award, also called as Shiv Chhatrapati State Sports Award, is the highest esteemed sports award honoured annually to the players of Maharashtra by the Government, in India.

The Government of Maharashtra introduced in 1969-70 a scheme for granting the Shiv Chhatrapati State Awards to sportsmen and women. The State Government has sanctioned 24 games for men and 12 for women for this plan.

Currently, the award carries a price money of Rupees 3 lakh, a trophy with a headgear of Shiv Chhatrapati, a sword, and Jari Patka positioned in a tray carried by a wooden stand. The winners are selected by a committee constituted by the Government of Maharashtra.

Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award

The Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award, is an appreciation award given by the Punjab Government  for eminence, superiority   and accomplishment for the service and support  of Punjab in the field of Sport.

This award usually given at the Olympic level, World Championship level, national and other international athletic  areas.

The award was initiated  in 1978. It usually comprises  of a trophy of Maharaja Ranjit Singh, applicant honour as well as 5 lakh Rupees.

First person  who won the Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award in history was  a sportsperson  Pargat Singh.

The award was halted for 10 years from 1996 to 2005 and was introduced  again in 2006.

However, in 2006 the award was honoured and appreciated  to individuals where it was misdated  from 1997 to 2004 so no capable winner lose their chance to win the award.

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award

The Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award is India’s highest adventure sports honour. It is named after Tenzing Norgay, one of the first two people, along with Edmund Hillary, to reach the summit of Mount Everest in 1953.

The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports bestows it on an annual basis.

The people who have displayed excellence and devoted themselves to the promotion of adventure sports are honoured with this award.

In most cases, one award is given in each of the four categories: land adventure, water (sea) adventure, air adventure, and lifetime achievement.

It was first given in 1994, and there have been 139 recipients since then.

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar

The Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar is a sports honour given in India. It is awarded yearly by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

The award acknowledges the “involvement of corporates, voluntary organizations, and sports control boards, in the encouragement and development of sports in the country” over the earlier three years. The award was started in the year 2009 and the guidelines were revised in the year 2015.

Since then, entities in four categories are awarded- Identification and nurturing of budding and young talent, Encouragement to sports through corporate social responsibility, Sports for development and Employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measures.

As of 2020, the award incorporates “a citation and a trophy in each of the categories”.