Arjun Award

Arjun Award

The Arjuna Award, officially known as the Arjuna Awards for Outstanding Performance in Sports and Games, is the Republic of Asian nation’s sports honour.The award is called once Arjuna, a personality from the Sanskrit epic Mahabharata of ancient Asian nation. He’s one in all the Pandavas, delineated as a talented archer winning the hand of Draupadi in wedding and within the Kurukshetra War, Lord Avatar becomes his charioteer teaching him the sacred data of sacred text. In Hindu mythology, he has been seen as a logo of toil, dedication and concentration. The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports gives it out once a year. Before the introduction of the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna in 1991–1992, the Arjuna award was the very best sporting honour of Asian nation. Both government approved National Sports Federations, the Indian Olympic Association, the Sports Authority of Asian nation (SAI), the Sports Promotion and Management Boards, the state and union territory governments, and the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna, Dhyan Chand, and Dronacharya awardees of previous years submitted nominations for the award. The recipients area unit chosen by a committee recognized by the Ministry and area unit worthy for his or her “good performance within the field of sports over an amount of 4 years” at international level and for having shown “qualities of leadership, equity and a way of discipline.” As of 2020, the award contains “a bronze figurine of Arjuna, certificate, ceremonial dress, and a money prize of ₹15 hundred thousand (US$21,000).”

The award, which was established in 1961 to honour the country’s outstanding athletes, has undergone a number of extensions, evaluations, and rationalizations over the years. The award was enlarged to incorporate all the recognized disciplines in 1977, has introduced autochthonic games and physically incapacitated classes in 1995 and introduced a period contribution class in 1995 resulting in creation of a separate Dhyan Chand Award in 2002. The newest revision in 2018 stipulates that the award is given solely to the disciplines enclosed within the events like Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, World Championship and tourney alongside Cricket, autochthonic Games, and Parasports. It additionally recommends giving solely fifteen awards in a very year, restful just in case of fantastic performance in major multi-sport events, team sports, across gender and making a gift of of a minimum of one award to physically challenged class.


Since the year 2001, the award is given solely in disciplines falling beneath the subsequent categories: Olympic Games / Asian Games / Commonwealth Games / tournament / World Championship Disciplines and Cricket. Indigenous Games, Sports for the Physically Challenged.


In 2020, a complete of twenty-seven people are bestowed with the award. Nineteen athletes were honored, plus three from shooting and two from each of badminton, boxing, cricket, hockey, and wrestling. And one every from sport, basketball, equestrian, football, golf, kabaddi, kho kho, court game, rowing, swimming, Ping-Pong and winter sports. 3 people were conjointly awarded from parasports.

Arjuna Award is given in following categories:

Archery, Athletics, Badminton/Ball Badminton, Basketball, Billiards & Snooker, Boxing, Carrom, Chess, Cricket, Cycling, Equestrian, Football, Golf, Gymnastics, Hockey, Motorsports, Judo, Kabaddi, Mountaineering, Roller Skating, Rowing, Polo, Shooting, Squash, Swimming, Table Tennis, Volleyball, Weightlifting, Wrestling, Wushu, Yachting, Bodybuilding


Mohammed Anas Yahiya in 2019 for athletics. Also Shivendra Pratap Santosh Singh won award for Hockey in 2020.